Paddington Art Prize


The Paddington Art Prize is grateful for the generous support of our panel of judges. Members of the panel are selected each year from a broad range of art disciplines and are recognised for their own outstanding achievement in arts related fields. We would like to take this opportunity to recognise their commitment to supporting and promoting the Australian art's community.

2016 Judges

Craig Waddell judge for Paddington Art Prize 2016

Craig Waddell

Wendy Sharpe judge for Paddington Art Prize 2016

Wendy Sharpe

wayne tunnicliffe judge for Paddington Art Prize 2016

Wayne Tunnicliffe
Head Curator, Australian Art, Art Gallery of NSW

2015 Judges

euam mcleod judge paddington art prize 2015

Euan Macleod

michael nock judge paddington art prize 2015

Michael Nock
International Art Patron / Collector and Artist

peter sharp judge paddington art prize 2015

Peter Sharp
Head of Drawing at UNSW Art and Design / Artist

2014 Judges

Lou Klepac OAM Historian, Author, Curator & Publisher

Barry Pearce Emeritus Curator, Art Gallery of NSW

Jane Watters Director of S.H. Erwin Gallery


From left to right: Professor Ross Harley, Lou Klepac OAM, Jane Watters, Barry Pearce

2013 Judges

Professor Ross Harley Dean, College of Fine Arts UNSW

Del Kathryn Barton Artist

John Firth Smith Artist

From left to right: Simon Chan, Professor Ross Harley, John Firth Smith, Del Kathryn Barton & Marlene Antico.

2012 Judges

Dr Janis Lander Artist and Art Writer

John McDonald Art Critic

Margaret Woodward Artist

2012 judges

From left to right: Margaret Woodward, John McDonald & Dr Janis Lander

2011 Judges

Cressida Campbell Artist

William Wright AM

Chris Antico Artist

Gavin Wilson to judge Artist Retreat Prize

Photos from the 2011 Judging process

judging 2011

Painting by John Earl

judging 2011
Painting by Suey McEnnally

judging 2011
Painting by Chris Langlois

2010 Judges

2010 judges

from the left, Gavin Wilson, Felicity Fenner and Brian Ladd

FELICITY FENNER Chief Curator, NIEA & UNSW College of Fine Arts

BRIAN LADDFormer Head of Public Programs, Art Gallery of New South Wales.

GAVIN WILSONIndependent Curator and Author.

2009 Judges

Professor Ian Howard Dean of UNSW College of Fine Arts.

Susan McCulloch Co-Director of McCulloch & McCulloch Australian Art Books / Book Publisher & Art Writer.

David Cook Deputy Director - Australian Paintings Department,Sotheby’s Australia.

2008 Judges

Nick Waterlow, Director, Ivan Dougherty Gallery, The University Of NSW
Geoff Cassidy, Director, Art Bank Sydney
Kerrie Lester, Artist

2007 Judges

Annette Larkin Art Dealer and Valuer, Annette Larkin Fine Art
Adrian Newstead Managing Director Deutscher-Menzies
Reg Richardson Patron of the Arts and Art Collector

2006 Judges

John Bloomfield Head of Painting [Senior Lecturer], National Art School, Sydney
John McDonald Art Critic
Garry Shead Artist

2005 Judges

Deborah Edwards Senior Curator - Australian Art, Art Gallery of NSW
Tony Geddes Cultural Services Manager - Gallery Director of Mosman Gallery
Patrick Corrigan AM Art Collector and Patron of the Arts

2004 Judges

Barry Pearce Head Curator, Australian Art, Art Gallery of NSW
Jenny Sages Artist
John Doyle Broadcaster and Writer
Linda van Nunen Journalist, Art Critic and Author

Founder/Principal Sponsor of the Paddington Art Prize

Marlene Antico